Pans
PFAS free pans UK: every coating and material checked
Looking for a PFAS free pan? Here is what each range is made of, part by part. We checked 23 pan ranges sold in the UK. 20 are recommended on PTFE and other PFAS: 7 rest on a lab report or on the material itself, such as uncoated stainless steel, and 13 on the brand’s own claim. 2 are shown as containing PTFE or other PFAS, and 1 say only “PFOA free”. 13 are recommended on lead and cadmium.
Updated regularly. 23 records in this table.
Are non-stick pans safe?
Of the 23 pan ranges we list, 2 have a PTFE coating by the source’s own words, 1 says only “PFOA free”, and 20 are recommended on PTFE and other PFAS (13 on a brand claim, 4 on a brand lab report and 3 on the material). 13 are recommended on lead and cadmium, and for 9 we found nothing on it. We report what each source says, with no health rating of our own.
| Product | PTFE and PFAS | Lead and cadmium | Bisphenols | Plastic touching food | Coating or material |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caraway Enameled Cast IronRecommended on 4 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols, plastic touching food. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not relevantMaterialRecommended | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Cast iron |
| Made In Stainless CladRecommended on 4 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols, plastic touching food. | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not relevantMaterialRecommended | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Uncoated steel |
| Our Place Ceramic Nonstick Perfect PotRecommended on 4 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols, plastic touching food. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not relevantMaterialRecommended | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Ceramic |
| Caraway Non-Stick Ceramic Fry PanRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| Circulon Halo LaserDefenseRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| GreenPan BarcelonaRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| GreenPan Reserve Ceramic Non-StickRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| GreenPan Venice Pro NoirRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| Made In CeramiCladRecommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium, bisphenols. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not found | Ceramic |
| Xtrema Pure Ceramic (Signature Skillet)Recommended on 3 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, bisphenols, plastic touching food. Lead or cadmium: a source says it is present. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | ContainsIndependent test | Not relevantMaterialRecommended | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Ceramic |
| Caraway Stainless SteelRecommended on 2 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not stated |
| Our Place Ceramic Nonstick Always Pan (Always Pan 2.0)Recommended on 2 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS, lead and cadmium. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Not found | Ceramic |
| HexClad HybridRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Ceramic |
| Le Creuset 3-ply Stainless Steel (uncoated)Recommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Uncoated steel |
| Le Creuset Essential Non-Stick CeramicRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Ceramic |
| Le Creuset Signature Enamelled Cast IronRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Cast iron |
| Made In Seasoned Carbon SteelRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromBrand lab reportRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Uncoated steel |
| Our Place Titanium Always Pan ProRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Titanium |
| ProCook Gourmet Ceramic Non-StickRecommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromBrand claimRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Ceramic |
| ProCook Professional Stainless Steel (Uncoated)Recommended on 1 of 4: PTFE and other PFAS. | Free fromMaterialRecommended | Not found | Not found | Not found | Uncoated steel |
| Tefal Easy Cook & CleanRecommended on 1 of 4: lead and cadmium. PTFE or other PFAS: the cooking surface. | ContainsIndependent test | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Not found | Not found | PTFE or other PFAS |
| Tefal Unlimited (Unlimited ON Induction)Recommended on 1 of 4: lead and cadmium. PTFE or other PFAS: the cooking surface. | ContainsBrand claim | Free fromBrand claim (with conditions)Recommended | Not found | Not found | PTFE or other PFAS |
| Le Creuset Toughened Non-StickNot recommended on any of the 4 hazards yet. The brand says only “PFOA free” about the coating. | PFOA free only, may contain PTFEBrand claim | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not stated |
We list each product as the brand describes it. Brands can change their products and pages, so please check the details on the brand’s own site before you buy.
What the labels mean
Each status shows the evidence it rests on: an independent test, a brand lab report, a certificate, the material itself, a brand claim, or no information. A dash means we found nothing from the brand, a test or a certificate. “Recommended” means a source says the product is free from it, the label is not “No information”, and no test or brand source contradicts it. A brand claim is the brand’s own words; we quote them exactly.